Configure Windows Live Mail leave a copy of messages on the server for POP3 Account

Changing the Windows Live Mail settings

To leave messages on the server, you will:

  • Open the Advanced settings window for your mail account

  • Check the "Leave a copy of messages on server" checkbox

  • Unmark the “Remove from server after x day(s)” and “Remove from server when deleted from 'Deleted Items'"

     

1. Start Windows Live Mail.

Start the Windows Live Mail program from your Start menu.


 

2. Open the “Accounts” window.

In Windows Live Mail, click on Menu, Options, then Email accounts on the Toolbar.


 

3. Open the account “Properties” window

Highlight your address@example.com account and click Properties.


 

4. Set the advanced properties.

Click the Advanced tab, then check the Leave a copy of messages on server checkbox.

Unmark the “Remove from server after x day(s)” and “Remove from server when deleted from 'Deleted Items'"


 

5. Close the setup windows.

Click OK to close the "Properties" window, then click Close to close the "Accounts" window.

 

Windows Live Mail configuration is complete

You're finished! From now on, any mail that arrives should stay on the server, and you should be able to see it in your other mail program or Webmail. (If you're using another mail program, you'll probably want to setup that program to leave a copy of your messages on the server, too.)


 

Add Feedback