Configure Outlook Express leave a copy of messages on the server for POP3 Account

Configure Outlook Express leave a copy of messages on the server

 

Changing the Outlook Express settings

To leave messages on the server, you will:

  • Open the Advanced settings window for your mail account

  • Check the "Leave a copy of messages on the server" checkbox

  • Unmark the “Remove from server after x day(s)” and “Remove from server when deleted from 'Deleted Items'

     

1. Start the Outlook Express program from your Start menu.

When Outlook Express opens, click Tools, then Accounts from the menu bar.


 

2. The "Internet Accounts" window appears.

Highlight the e-mail account you wish to change and click Properties.


 

3. The "Properties" window appears.

Click the Advanced tab, then check the Leave a copy of messages on server checkbox.

Unmarked "Remove from server after X days" and "Remove from server when deleted from 'Deleted Items''.


 

4. Close the setup windows.

Click OK to close the Properties window, then click Close to close the Internet Accounts window.


 

Outlook Express setup is complete

You're finished! From now on, any mail that arrives should stay on the server, and you should be able to see it in your other mail program or Webmail. (If you're using another mail program, you'll probably want to setup that program to leave a copy of your messages on the server, too.)


 

Add Feedback